Review: Bubble & Bee Organic Pit Putty & Cream Pit Putty

Image I’ll be the first to admit that when jumping into this lifestyle the thing I was afraid of the most had to have been deodorant. I had feared that without the aluminum I would be doomed to be a sweaty and smelly mess. But I was determined and I didn’t want to go back to the harmful aluminum deodorants. I spent a long time using Tom’s Of Maine’s deodorant and found that it left me sweating more than normal and it just didn’t quite work for me, I began to get a bit hopeless and felt it was the only “natural” deodorant I could find. That was until, of course I found Bubble & Bee Organic. Finding Bubble & Bee Organic was like finding a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow. Here was this store that consisted of many organic goodies and I was in all natural heaven!

My eyes wandered the shop in excitement as they set on B&B’s Pit Putty. I couldn’t help but find the name funny due to it’s uniqueness and quirkiness which only makes me love it more. I can’t lie that I wasn’t a bit hesitant to try it… What if it doesn’t work for me? I really didn’t want to get lost in the world of finding a natural deodorant again and I was afraid that maybe there wasn’t anything that would work quite like my old deodorant  I felt like Goldilocks in search of the just right porridge for me. Was there anything that could keep me smelling fresh?

Luckily my fear quickly vanished out once I found out that they offer an amazing deodorant guarantee. If that particular deodorant doesn’t work for you, they will gladly replace it free of charge — all you have to pay for is shipping! It was a win/win for me and I really had nothing to lose. Stephanie Greenwood (the owner of Bubble & Bee Organic) really strives to make her customers happy and is by far one of the most helpful companies I’ve ever found. Not to mention their super fast shipping that still baffles me to this day.

Now, let’s get into it. Shall we? Time to review some Pit Putty!

I will say finding the right Pit Putty for me was a bit of a challenge. I sometimes get sensitive skin and suffer with contact dermatitis occasionally, so perhaps this combination is really to blame. Finding the right deodorant for you can be hard but don’t give up! It’s finding the right product that works with your body chemistry.

I will make note that ALL but one of these deodorants that I tried resulted in rash due to contact dermatitis to one of the ingredients in each product.  Don’t let that push you away! I highly recommend trying out these fantastic deodorants, both baking soda and B&B’s baking soda free deodorants to find the perfect fit for you.

Onto the reviews!

PIT PUTTY DEODORANT IN LEMONGRASS WITH BAKING SODA:

The first Pit Putty product I tried from B&B Organic was the stick form Lemongrass Pit Putty. The scent to me is very fruity but unisex. A bit strong for my tastes as I was expecting more of your typical lemon scent but I did use it because I was eager to see how it worked. I will say this particular Pit Putty worked fantastically at keeping odors at bay, I smelled fresh for hours upon hours and it was amazing! I didn’t have to worry about smelling even if I did sweat a bit. Living in the south, you just can’t avoid sweating but you can avoid the smell!

I soon began to really enjoy the scent, it was fresh and made me smell fresh and that’s all that really mattered. But after weeks of using this product, I began to get a rash similar to poison ivy. Tiny red bumps all underneath my armpit that itched and left me feeling miserable. I quickly contacted Stephanie and she set me up with a replacement as well as gave me advise on other Pit Putty scents that might be better for my skin. I decided to try a product she was testing out that was Lavender Vanilla Pit Putty. I felt the lavender essential oil would be more soothing to my skin than other products B&B had at the time.

OVERALL RATINGS:

RATING: 5 out of 5

PRICE: $10.85

INGREDIENTS: Organic arrowroot powder, organic extra virgin coconut oil, aluminum-free baking soda, organic lemongrass essential oil.

PROS: Keeps you fresh for a LONG time, unisex scent, product lasts a long time, and it’s easy to use

CONS: Like all deodorants these can leave white marks on your clothes — however, they easily wash out!

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE: Kept odor at bay and smelled great, I’d recommend this to those who sweat a lot as this one is pretty powerful at keeping odors at bay.

LAVENDER VANILLA PIT PUTTY WITH BAKING SODA: 

Sadly, this one didn’t make it into the shop. I don’t really know why because it’s by far one of my favorites and smells amazing. However, I was very lucky to get my hands on this product while they were testing out how it did with customers. I loved it so much that I bought another as a back up! I really wanted to purchase some for my mother as a gift as well. I really loved this product! After I let my past rash disappear I used this right up! It smelled great and did exactly what the lemongrass Pit Putty did — it kept me fresh for long periods of time without budging but I did find that in extreme heat ,it didn’t hold up as well but did manage to keep odors at bay for the most part. I used this product for months upon months with no issues.

But it crept up on me and it returned… my contact dermatitis popped up to say hello. I was sad and a bit frustrated but I continued on and tried yet another deodorant in hopes of finding the right match for me. If this one was giving me fits, what one earth was causing me to react? It was an uphill battle to find the right match for me.

OVERALL RATINGS:

RATING: 4 out of 5

PRICE: I think I paid $9.85 or $10.85

PROS: Soothing to the skin, very light in scent, lasts long, and keeps you fresh

CONS: Not available in the shop! ;] Didn’t hold up as well as the Lemongrass deodorant for me.

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE: Worked great, smelled fresh, and kept me smelling good!

SPEARMINT & TEA TREE PIT PUTTY CREAM WITH BAKING SODA:

After my beloved lavender and vanilla Pit Putty didn’t agree with my temperamental skin, I decided to try a sample I had got of their Pit Putty cream deodorant in spearmint and tea tree. It smells more masculine to me personally due to the musk of the tea tree but it didn’t bother me at all. I would recommend this to men for sure because it’s very earthy and fresh. As I put it on my pits I noticed it had a slight cooling sensation which was absolutely fantastic for those hot summer months. It applied very easily and smoothly and I was in more control when applying compared to the stick deodorants. It melted away into my skin almost instantly and didn’t feel oily at all. However in the southern summer heat, it didn’t keep me fresh quite like the others had. My body chemistry just didn’t work with this one. It also resulted in the same rash after a few weeks of use. Unfortunately.

OVERALL RATINGS:

RATING: 3 out of 5

PRICE: $9.85

SIZE: 2 oz glass jar

INGREDIENTS: Organic arrowroot powder, organic shea butter, organic coconut oil, organic sunflower oil, aluminum-free baking soda, organic spearmint essential oil, organic tea tree essential oil.

PROS: Cooling to the skin, easy to apply, not greasy at all, and has a fresh scent. Available in a trial size.

CONS: Didn’t hold up for me during the hot southern summer which means I ended up smelling like body odor. :[

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE: I’d recommend this more for people who really like the scent of tea tree. It is an earthy scent and more masculine to me than the others I’ve tried. From my personal experience, I felt like it was better suited for my fiancee than for myself and I discontinued use after it resulted in rash.

JASMINT PIT PUTTY CREAM DEODORANT WITH BAKING SODA:

The combination of jasmine and mint sounded absolutely fantastic to me and while at this point you’re probably saying, “Why on earth did you keep buying products if you kept getting a rash?” well, because I wanted to! I was determined to find my match. Don’t judge!

I bought this in a trial size to see how it’d work with me and my body chemistry. First whiff and all I could say was WOW! It smells exactly like a peppermint patty. Creamy delicious peppermint — not like candy cane peppermint. I was instantly in love! Although to me, you can’t really smell the jasmine but I wasn’t about to complain — I mean the deodorant smells like a peppermint patty… would you complain?

Just like the spearmint and tea tree cream pit putty, this didn’t disappoint. It was easy to apply and seemed to hold up a lot more with my body chemistry and the way I sweat. This became an instant favorite and I used it for quite a few months. It also happens to have the cooling sensation as the spearmint, which I really like.

But once more! I got the rash… this time in large seeping boils. I was pretty sure my skin had had enough.

OVERALL RATINGS:

RATING: 5 out of 5

PRICE: $9.85

SIZE: 2 oz glass jar

INGREDIENTS: Organic arrowroot powder, organic shea butter, organic coconut oil, organic sunflower oil, (aluminum-free) baking soda, organic jasmine extract, organic peppermint essential oil.

PROS: Cooling to the skin, easy to apply, not greasy at all, and has a fabulous fresh scent. Available in a trial size. I found this worked best when combining it with my lavender and vanilla pit putty to make it last longer.

CONS: After awhile I’d start to smell my sweat. I discontinued use after it resulted in a rash.

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE: I love love LOVE this scent. It’s one of my top favorites and I’d say it’s unisex despite the hint of floral. I give this 5 stars because I really do love it, despite my bodies rage against baking soda.

& LAST BUT NOT LEAST…. THE WINNER!

At this point I swore off deodorant all together and tried to be a detective. Things just weren’t adding up! That’s when it hit me. I had gotten a rash on my neck and hands during all of this…. I couldn’t pin point that either. I retraced my steps and realized that the rashes were all similar. What was I doing wrong? I was doing an apple cider vinegar hair rinse with… you guessed it, baking soda! My poor sensitive skin hates being bathed and smothered in baking soda and so I went in search of a deodorant without. I contacted Stephanie and she put my worries at ease! Bubble & Bee happens to also carry Pit Putty sans baking soda! I’m pretty sure I jumped for joy and ordered it right away after finding that out. So let me talk about the winner… the one that saved me from all my troubles. The deodorant I plan on using for a long time!

GERANIUM LIME PIT PUTTY 100% ORGANIC DEODORANT 

If your skin is sensitive to baking soda, like mine then you’re in luck! Stephanie offers TWO deodorant options, one in original (unisex) and the geranium lime one, which is more targeted to females but to me, it’s mostly just a lime scent which I believe makes it more unisex in my honest opinion. I honestly believe ALL of her deodorant options can be unisex so don’t let the name or packaging stop you from trying ‘em out! What to say about this one? Well, for starters this is a stick form which I honestly believe works best for me as the creams just seemed to not stop the odor 100%. This one lasts all day with no issues! I can feel confident and not have to worry. I have yet to try it out in super high summer heats but will update it later when I do go through that. Overall, I love the scent it’s very spicy from the lime with a hint of sweet which I really like. It’s easy to apply and has lasted quite awhile! Win, win win! I couldn’t be happier.

If you like lime scents, this one would be for you for sure. (:

OVERALL RATINGS:

RATING: 5 out of 5

PRICE: $9.85

SIZE: 2.5 oz

INGREDIENTS:  Organic arrowroot powder, organic coconut oil, organic lime essential oil, organic geranium essential oil.

PROS: Odorless all day, easy to apply, smells great, keeps you fresh, lasts a long time

CONS: None! I just wish Stephanie had more baking soda free deodorants in her shop. I’d like to try out different scents. The orange vanilla sounds so good.

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE: I love it! I couldn’t be more thrilled. I would recommend this product to friends.

So there you have it! My long journey of finding the right deodorant! Give Bubble & Bee a browse, you’ll be seeing more reviews on them from me soon! <3

Leave a Reply

